Dalry Road’s Kebabish Original

It seems there is always a business opening or closing on Dalry Road. The latest restaurant to try their hand in the West of Edinburgh is Kebabish Original, which has opened in the premises vacated by The Bed Depot. The interior has been stripped out and replaced with a large contemporary styled dining area, with open plan kitchen. The chiller proudly displays skewered meat of titanic proportions and is a visible demonstration of the “Thrill of the grill” slogan associated with the Kebabish Original brand.

Chicken on puri at Kebabish Original, Dalry Road Fish tikka at Kebabish Original, Dalry Road

Kebabish Original has undergone a rapid expansion in the past 8 years, due to its franchising model and the popularity of food from the Indian subcontinent. I believe the owner of this franchise, who also runs The Curry House in Corstorphine, is not advertising Kebabish Original heavily at the moment while he gets the restaurant running fluidly. This is a wise choice, considering the courteous but extremely nervous service we received. Our service culminated in a bizarre trip to the counter to pay the bill, despite the chip and pin device being wireless. The lack of advertising does not appear to have affected the trade at Kebabish Original - it’s been busy almost every evening I’ve walked past.

The menu is largely what you’d expect from any good Indian based restaurant, with the “Thrill of the grill” section where those ridiculously sized pieces of meat are cooked over charcoal. Kebabish Original’s starters were all on the money. Perfectly cooked chunks of cod for the fish tikka (¬£4.50) and a wonderfully light and crispy puffed bread, with an excellently prepared chick pea filling, for the chana on puri (¬£2.95). There’s no free poppadoms at Kebabish Original (70p each) and ¬£3.50 for a pickle tray seems excessive.

We had the king prawn starter (£6.95) as main. It had only three prawns, but thankfully they were huge, fabulously succulent and juicy. Bhunas, kormas and vindaloos are all available at Kebabish Original, but I chose the lamb karahi (£8.50). The lamb was tender and cooked just right, while the thick sauce accompanying this dish was perfectly balanced. A side order of saag aloo (£3.50) is for hardened spinach enthusiasts only - it only had three small potatoes in it. The taste was there though. Our nan (£1.95) was light and fluffy - a great reminder of how brilliant nans straight out of the tandoor oven are. Pilau rice was £2.50.

The area around Haymarket and Dalry is rich with very good Indian restaurants and takeaways, including the easy to overlook Lazeez Tandoori opposite Kebabish Original. According to the Kebabish Original official website, over 70% of the food served at their franchisees is pre-packed and pre-prepared. If the food tastes this good, then does that matter!? I’ll definitely eat again at Kebabish Original, while continuing to support the other very good Indian restaurants in the area, which prepare all their food from scratch.

Kebabish Original has no alcohol licence, so you can “Bring Your Own Booze”. Takeaway is also available; there’s a small seated area by the door for you to wait.

Kebabish Original is located at 128 Dalry Road, Edinburgh.
Telephone: 0131 337 3371

10 Responses to “Dalry Road’s Kebabish Original”

  1. Thanks for this review. I’ve been walking past there everyday and have yet to try it, but it is on my list. I’m already a fan of Lazeez Tandori. :)

  2. Hi, thank you so much for the review. I would just like to confirm that we are one of the very few Kebabish original restaurants that do use fresh produce from local suppliers and everything in our restaurant is prepared from scratch.

    Look forward to seeing you in again.


    Edinburgh KO-Team

  3. i am addicted to this place- quality!

  4. It’s my fave Indian in Edinburgh! The food is out of this world, I’ve reviewed it on my blog!

  5. I visited Kebabish on Dalry Road a few weeks ago, and was blown away by the food, the service and the prices (the BYOB policy really cuts down the bill, if like me you’re partial to a Cobra with your curry). Dalry is now the capital of Edinburgh’s curry scene - Lazeez Tandoori for takeaway, Kebabish for sitting in. Amazing.

  6. Went there last night after seeing a Festival film at Cineworld. The staff were really friendly and attentive (without hovering), the prices reasonable (especially with BYOB, and Sommerfield only a few steps away), the decor open, airy and modern (not a bit of flocked wallpaper or symbols of Colonialism), but mainly, the food was GREAT. My partner is a connoiseur of chicken wings and this starter got the mega thumbs up (and he’s not easily pleased when it comes to chicken wings). The vegetable jalfrezi was delicious and packed quite a zing (who says vegetarian food has to be boring?) and the sag chicken was lovely. Recommended.

    Thanks for writing the review.

  7. I totaly have nothing but praise for the place. I watched as the chef cooked the biggest, thicket t-bone steak I ever saw whilst awaiting my mixed-grill & curry with girlfriend.
    A perk for wine drinkers is that it’s a B.Y.O.B meaning you can hand select your own bottle of wine/beer from the shopping centre next door.

    I give the place ten out of ten and am going there tomorrow for the second time.

  8. I went to the Dalry Kebabish in Edinburgh and I tell you the food was and customer service was rubbish! The worst I have ever experienced! The food was disgusting and was so dry! The waiters never paid any attention to us and were not friendly at all. The food is too expensive and is not worth the price. At the end when I told the waiter to pack ALL the food, he did not include the samosa and aloo paratha which extremely annoyed me. All in all, it was the worst experience and I would NEVER recommend this stupid restaurant to anyone!

  9. My complaint sent on the 10th February 2011

    very disappointed with your service last night, the table was dirty when we sat at it, there wasn’t enough staff on, no service with a smile, the table kept moving all night - which actually caused my little boys chips to fall - no apology - or replacement offered - the dessert was a rip off - having looked at your prices am shocked at what u are charging for nan bread and soft drinks - very disappointed with kebabish Edinburgh!!

    A response from Husnan Ahmed received on 14th February2011:

    I would like to comment on the above, firstly i would like to state that we at Kebabish Original try our best to satisfy all our customers, we have never had any complaints about our staff just praise for them, On the night you were in we were very busy, however if you had found that the table you were sitting on is not comfortable for you, all you need to do is ask and we would put you onto another table, i am afraid that there is no chance that the movement of the table would cause your boys chips to fall as this is impossible, and looking at the CCTV you were away from the table at the time and your boy accidently dropped the bowl of chips and your partner had appologised, so i am not sure why we would appologise for this.
    Finally in regards to our prices we are the most reasonable priced restaurant in Edinburgh, we source the best quality products for our customers, and anyone wishing to look at our prices they can log on to our website www.ko-edinburgh.co.uk so everyone has an idea of what they are paying before they come to the restaurant and in comparison to other restaurants i am sure that we are lower priced than any other, maybe you are comparing prices with takeaways which have a few seating..?

    No apology received whatsoever, complete disregard to us and also made us out to be liars! - never going back!!!

  10. I went to Kebabish Original, having purchased a groupon voucher, and like to say that the food was amazing… i have been to quite a few indian restaurants around Edinburgh but this has got to be my favourite, the decor, ambience, the staff all make this a wonderful place to dine in, i would recommend this place to everyone… definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

For spam detection purposes, please copy the number 8800 to the field below:

Scottish Top Site - Topsites